Future classics – Jonas Olsson, piano

la 2.4.2016

Opening the spring season of the Key Discoveries series, the remarkable pianist Jonas Olsson makes his first appearance in Finland, presenting a program consisting mostly of works written since the 2000's. All works except Ferneyhough and Simon are heard for the first time in Finland, and the study by Johan Svensson receives its world premiere. Composer Pasi Lyytikäinen hosts the event, and will also make a live composition during the concert, to be premiered at the end of the recital.


Brian Ferneyhough (b 1943):
Lemma-Icon-Epigram (1981)

Johan Svensson (b 1983):
Study for piano #1 (2015), world premiere

Pedro Alvarez (b 1980):
VER (2013)


Brice Pauset (b 1965):
Cinq Canons (1990-2002)

Vassos Nicolaou (b 1971):
Etude 5: Mirrors/Interventions (2008)
Etude 6: Animadóttir (2013)
Etude 7: Entrap (2013)
Etude 8: point de jonction (2013)

Art-Oliver Simon (b 1966):
Klavierstück VI (2005)

Free entrance
Programs are sold for 10 euros.


The Swedish pianist Jonas Olsson is spending most of his time somewhere between Germany and Sweden, much in demand as a chamber musician, accompanist and sight-reading teacher However, he is most passionate about contemporary music, with a special interest in complexity and new playing techniques.

Jonas studied with Hans Pålsson in Gothenburg, making his concerto début with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra in 2007. He continued his studies in the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt, and spent two years specialising in contemporary solo piano music with Pierre-Laurent Aimard in Cologne.

Jonas has performed as a soloist at venues such as the Aldeburgh Festival, Carnegie Hall, Klang Festival Copenhagen, Klavierfestival Ruhr, 2D2N Festival Odessa and, repeatedly, the Lucerne Festival. Apart from tirelessly championing a younger generation of composers, he has also closely collaborated with a large number of more established composers, most prominently among them Pierre Boulez and Helmut Lachenmann.


Kartta latautuu...
Lisännyt Import Robot

Kirjoita kommentti

You must be logged in to post a comment.